Human Services Commission

The Human Services Commission is a volunteer advisory board which meets six times a year to ensure the highest quality and maximum effectiveness of human services provided for the benefit of the citizens of Santa Cruz County. Meetings are open to the public. The Commission consists of ten members appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

The duties of the Commission (as defined in Chapter 2.60 of the Santa Cruz County Code) are to:

  • Guide long-term planning regarding meeting the socio-economic needs of low-income, disabled, disadvantaged and at-risk people in the county;
  • Advise the county board of supervisors on policies and priorities that affect the socio-economic needs of low-income, disabled, disadvantaged and at-risk people;
  • Provide advice and counsel to the Director and Senior Management of the Human Services Department on best practices in the operation of the department’s programs;
  • Provide a forum for citizens affected by county human services programs and policies;
  • Advise the Board of Supervisors on funding decisions affecting the socio-economic needs of low-income, disabled and disadvantaged people, including county allocation of resources to county programs and community programs funding;
  • Integrate efforts and initiatives affecting the socio-economic needs of the poor which cross departmental, divisional and interest-group lines;
  • Advise the board of supervisors on legislative matters concerning the county human services programs. (Ord. 4106 § 2 (part), 1991)

Meeting Schedule

Pursuant to AB 361 and Cal. Gov. Code section 54953, public meetings of the Human Services Commission will be conducted in a hybrid/remote format. Members of the public can attend virtually by teleconference (or in-person, if hybrid).

Human Services Commission meetings are held bimonthly on the third Wednesday from 8:30 – 10:30 a.m. The 2023 Commission Meeting schedule is as follows:

  • January 18, 2023, 8:30 am – 10:30 am, *This is a Virtual Public Meeting – Click Here to Join*
  • March 15, 2023, 8:30 am – 10:30 am (meeting location TBD)
  • May 17, 2023, 8:30 am – 10:30 am (meeting location TBD)
  • July 19, 2023, 8:30 am – 10:30 am (meeting location TBD)
  • September 20, 2023, 8:30 am – 10:30 am (meeting location TBD)
  • November 15, 2023, 8:30 am – 10:30 am (meeting location TBD)

Virtual Meeting Instructions: Join on your computer or mobile app Click here to join the meeting

Or call in (audio only) +1 831-454-2222 United States, Salinas

Phone Conference ID: 714 589 777#

To provide written public comments associated with any agenda item, please submit by email to  



To receive a PDF of Human Services Commission meetings agendas and/or minutes published prior to July 2020, email

Advisory Commission Members

Lisa Smith (First District)

Emily Hanson (First District)

Danny Keith, Vice-Chair (Second District)

Martina Sharyn O’Sullivan (Second District)

Monica Martinez (Third District)

Betsy Clark, Chair (Third District)

Charles M. ‘Stoney’ Brook (Fourth District)

Felipe Hernandez (Fourth District)

Jennifer Anderson-Ochoa (Fifth District)

Denise Hitzeman (Fifth District)


Board of Supervisors Meetings

2023 Calendar of Meetings (PDF 153 KB)

Upcoming Meetings and Agendas

Prior Meetings and Agendas

Video Recordings of Prior Meetings