Am I eligible for TCVAP?

Federal TVPA Assistance Eligibility

Trafficking victims and their eligible family members may receive federal benefits and services as provided under the Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000 (TVPA) and Trafficking Victims Protection Reauthorization Act of 2003 (TVPRA). Individuals must be certified as trafficking victims by the federal Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR) to qualify for these federal benefits. To receive certification, victims of trafficking must be willing to assist with the investigation and prosecution of trafficking cases and have completed a bona fide application for a T Visa or have received continued presence status from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services in order to contribute to the prosecution of human traffickers.

State TCVAP Assistance Eligibility

In addition to federal assistance, there is a state-funded program for noncertified victims of human trafficking and other serious crimes who have not yet been certified by the ORR. Eligibility for state-funded benefits and services are extended to trafficking victims who: 

  • Can make a sworn statement or have documentation showing that they are a victim of human trafficking; and
  • Meet the income and resource limitations; and
  • Have submitted, or are preparing to submit an application for a T-Visa to USCIS; have continued presence; or are otherwise taking steps to meet the eligibility conditions for federal benefits. 

TCVAP also provides critical benefits and services to non-citizen victims of domestic violence and other serious crimes who:

  • Have filed for or been granted a U-Visa from USCIS; and
  • Meet the income and resource limitations.

For more information on the state-funded TCVAP, see the Refugee Programs Bureau Human Trafficking Fact Sheet.