

County of Santa Cruz

HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION

(831) 454-4130 or 454-4088
FAX (831) 454-4642
1000 Emeline Avenue, Santa Cruz, CA 95060
www.santacruzhumanservices.org www.workforcescc.com

March Meeting Minutes - Approved

DATE: March 15, 2023

TIME: 8:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m.

PLACE: Hybrid Meeting: In person at the United Way, 4450 Capitola Rd #106, Capitola, CA,

and Virtually via Microsoft Teams

<u>Commissioners Present</u>: Emily Hanson (1st District, Virtual); Lisa Smith (1st District); Danny Keith (2nd District); Betsy Clark (3rd District); Stoney Brook (4th District); Karina Moreno (4th District) Jennifer Anderson-Ochoa (5th District); Denise Hitzeman (5th District)

Commissioners Excused: None

Commissioners Unexcused: None

<u>Commission Seats Vacant</u>: Supervisor Zach Friend (2nd District, 1 seat); Supervisor Justin Cummings (3rd District, 1 seat)

<u>Staff Present</u>: Randy Morris, HSD Director; Adam Spickler, Senior Analyst, Heather Viola, Executive Secretary

Guests: None present or virtually

1. <u>AB 2449 Just Cause / Emergency Circumstances (Action):</u> The Commission approved to allow Commissioner Hanson (1st District) to participate in the meeting virtually. (Clark/Anderson-Ochoa)

AYES: Smith, Keith, Clark, Brook, Moreno, Anderson-Ochoa, Hitzeman

NOES: None ABSTAIN: Hanson ABSENT: None

2. <u>Approval of Minutes (Action)</u>: The Commission approved January 18, 2023, meeting minutes. (Keith/Anderson-Ochoa)

AYES: Hanson, Smith, Keith, Clark, Brook, Hitzeman

NOES: None

ABSTAIN: Moreno, Anderson-Ochoa (not present at January meeting)

ABSENT: None

3. <u>2023 Unscheduled Vacancies</u>: The Commission approved two resignations as submitted, the resignation of 3rd District Commissioner Monica Martinez and 2nd District Commissioner Martina O'Sullivan, creating unscheduled vacancies to be filled by County Supervisors, authorizing Commission staff to submit the notices of resignation to the Board of Supervisors on behalf of the commission. (Keith Hitzeman)

AYES: Hanson, Smith, Keith, Clark, Brook, Moreno, Anderson-Ochoa, Hitzeman

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

4. <u>2023 Officer Nominations & Selections:</u> The Commission approved the nomination of Stoney Brook as 2023 Commission Chair, and the nomination of Denise Hitzeman as 2023 Vice-Chair. (Clark/Hitzeman)

AYES: Hanson, Smith, Keith, Clark, Brook, Moreno, Anderson-Ochoa, Hitzeman

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None ABSENT: None

5. <u>Schedule of Meetings for 2023:</u> The Commission approved a Commission meeting schedule for 2023. (Brook/Hitzeman)

AYES: Hanson, Smith, Keith, Clark, Brook, Moreno, Hitzeman

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None

ABSENT: Anderson-Ochoa

6. <u>Commission Bylaws:</u> The Commission deferred approval of updated bylaws to the May 2023 Commission Meeting. (Keith/Clark)

AYES: Hanson, Smith, Keith, Clark, Brook, Moreno, Hitzeman

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None

ABSENT: Anderson-Ochoa

7. <u>Commission Workplan:</u> The Commission deferred approval of updating its annual Workplan to the July 2023 Commission Meeting. (Moreno/Hitzeman)

AYES: Hanson, Smith, Keith, Clark, Brook, Moreno, Hitzeman

NOES: None

ABSTAIN: None

ABSENT: Anderson-Ochoa

8. <u>Motion to Adjourn</u>: The Commission meeting adjourned at 10:39 am (Brook/Keith)

AYES: Hanson, Smith, Keith, Clark, Brook, Moreno, Hitzeman

NOES: None ABSTAIN: None

ABSENT: Anderson-Ochoa